Weekly Book: The Reader, Bernhard Schlink (231/365)

Il libro che vi consiglio questa settimana, in realtà, l’ho iniziato a leggere sabato scorso.
Non ce l’ho fatta ad aspettare.
Si tratta del mio unico acquisto libroso in quel di Londra.
Nello specifico nella mitica Travel Bookshop di Notting Hill (quella del film, per intenderci).
Che, nella realtà vende ogni tipo di libri.
Direte:
Perchè ne hai comprato uno solo?
Forse avrei dovuto fotografare la valigia al ritorno….e soprattutto gli sforzi per farla entrare nel contenitore della Ryanair che mi consentiva di portarmela a bordo (non ho mai sudato tanto in vita mia!!).
Vorrà dire che mi rifarò alla prossima minifuga (stavolta più familiare) londinese…. 🙂

Nel frattempo, mi immergo nella lettura di questo meraviglioso romanzo e…anzi, se vi è capitato di leggerlo, ditemi cosa ne pensate!

The Reader, Bernhard Schlink

“I’m not frightened. I’m not frightened of anything. The more I suffer, the more I love. Danger will only increase my love. It will sharpen it, forgive its vice. I will be the only angel you need. You will leave life even more beautiful than you entered it. Heaven will take you back and look at you and say: Only one thing can make a soul complete and that thing is love.”

Hailed for its coiled eroticism and the moral claims it makes upon the reader, this mesmerizing novel is a story of love and secrets, horror and compassion, unfolding against the haunted landscape of postwar Germany.

When he falls ill on his way home from school, fifteen-year-old Michael Berg is rescued by Hanna, a woman twice his age. In time she becomes his lover—then she inexplicably disappears. When Michael next sees her, he is a young law student, and she is on trial for a hideous crime. As he watches her refuse to defend her innocence, Michael gradually realizes that Hanna may be guarding a secret she considers more shameful than murder.
Pensato da

Mi lasci un commento?

